design · knits · Knitting · sweaters · wool

Designer of the Week – Olga Buraya Kefelian

This weekly feature will include knitwear designers that I am particularly drawn to. I will feature some of their designs, why I like them and links to their information as well. If there is a designer you think I should post about and really, really like, then please shoot me an email at fultongirl59@gmail.com.

This week I would like to introduce you to Olga Buraya Kefelian of Olga Jazzy.

Photos courtesy of Olga Buraya Kefelian

One of my favorite designs of hers is the Aranami Shawl which I have seen numerous times referenced on other blogs, Ravelry, etc. Olga blogged about it here. Aranami translates “stormy seas and raging waves” in Japanese according to Olga. The original pattern was done up in Brooklyn Tweed’s Loft yarn which comes in a whopping 32 colors! She used five tonal colors in a gradated move which is one of the things I really love about it. Also, the half-circle motifs used are genius. And you could easily change the color scheme as she recommends in her blog post even showing you different color gradations of Loft that would work. I have not knit this shawl but think it definitely needs to go on my bucket list of knits! So, let me review:

  • gradated in tonal colors
  • reversible
  • good portable project
  • visibly very pleasing to the eye
  • can be done in a variety of color gradations
  • beginner/intermediate project

You can find a very good interview with her here at Brooklyn Tweed.

BURAYA_wp7_blog_conversation_02
Photos courtesy of Jared Flood

The work she did for Jared Flood is so classic with a good touch of patterning added in inventive ways so that the design offers a timeless appeal with a twist. The cables and eyelet work are perfect added design elements. This is “Coda“, a cabled raglan and arched yoke pullover worked in the round from bottom up. While the upper yoke and sleeves are done in one piece from the top down.

In review:

  • classic design with a twist
  • great yarn choice, Shelter of Brooklyn Tweed
  • ribbing
  • three-quarter sleeve length
  • inventive use of patterning (cables and eyelet)

Check out Ravelry for more information from fellow knitters who have made this. This pattern needless to say is for the more advanced knitter. I would be willing to give it a try, how about you? I like it that much.

She fortunately has many more wonderful designs found at Brooklyn Tweed and on her website.

I hope you enjoyed my first designer feature! Let me know if you would like different information not included in this post. Thanks, and have a great day!

xoxo Shannon