design · knits · Knitting · texture · wool

Designer of the Week – Kate Davies

Hello all! Hopefully you had a happy and safe 4th of July!

Once again we meet and I get to introduce you to Kate Davies. Although I am sure most of you know about her considering her prolific and wonderful career thus far. She stands out in my eyes due to her unerring talent for color work. The fact that she lives in Scotland doesn’t hurt either – talk about inspiration!

This shows you just how busy she has been!

In today’s post on her blog, you can even read a short little tid bit of how Kate got back into knitting and designing.

Other places to find her:

Her Funchal Moebius is one of my all-time favorites. The genius of the reversible patterning and the simple two color combination. As it says on her Ravelry page, it is a surprisingly easy knit using a 4-ply fingering or sock weight yarn doubled. It can be worn as a wrap, scarf, cowl, or hood.

In her post about this pattern, she sites using an OXO pattern with strong diagonals. Beautiful! I own this pattern and have had the yarn to make it for some time but have just never gotten around to doing it. What does that say about me? I’m a professional procrastinator for one thing. Maybe I am a little bit intimidated by it? Whatever the reason, it has been my loss.

In review:

  • two-color stranded work
  • moebius that starts out as a provisionally cast-on tube, knit continuously up to your shoulders, then blocked flat and twisted and knit into a moebius.
  • versatile – can be worn several different ways
  • fairly easy, satisfying project

This design was inspired by the dragons-tooth pavements she saw on a trip to Funchal, the capital of Portugal in the Madeira region. I think we have inspiration all around us, we just have to be open to it and be looking!

Other well-known patterns of hers that are also some of my favorites:

Rams and Yowes

Sheep Heid

Peerie Flooers

… and the infamous, “Owls” (in a kids version as well now)

Well, I am now definitely itching (sorry for the yarny pun) to make up one of these. I hope you have been inspired today!

xoxo Shannon

