Knitting

Rusty and It’s a Wrap – Progress!

I am moving a little slow on the Rusty Cardigan by Steinunn Birna Gudjonsdottir I first mentioned here. Since it starts out with a ribbed edging at the bottom of the cardigan, I decided to do a tubular cast-on (here is a great tutorial that really helped me from Craftsy). And needless to say, it was giving me fits. First of all, I started with too long circular needles and the stitches somehow got twisted. All in all, I think I tried at least three times before I finally got it right! I was determined not to give up though and decided to show you what I have so far:

Also, my wrap is moving along well; I am enjoying this knit immensely. It is relatively easy with some cabling thrown in if you don’t mind that, and I don’t! If I want to add texture to a design, this is one of my favorite ways to do it.

It’s also “Worldwide Knit in Public” day today! I might head to my LYS and participate in this national event. There’s nothing better than sitting out on a beautiful day and knitting with likeminded people, right?

I hope you are all enjoying your weekend. It is beautiful right now in the Ohio valley. I’m thinking a lot of knitting is in order, taking pictures with my new Nikon which I’m very excited about and celebrating my youngest son’s 17th birthday tomorrow! Wishing you all the best.

Xoxo Shannon

 

