Knitting

It’s A Wrap and Other Worldly Pursuits

This new design has been giving me a few fits. I’ve had to rip out at least three or four times, trying to get just the right combination of patterns. I’m working with an alpaca/bamboo, sport weight yarn that I died myself with cochineal (which is a fun experience in itself!) Here’s a little glimpse of it:
This is going to be a rectangle shaped wrap/scarf with a lot of texture/pattern which I love to see in a garment. So once I get all the patterning figured out, I will finish the sample and show you!

And elsewhere in the world . . . .

I have always admired the amazing work of Marie Wallin. She was the head designer for Rowan Magazine for eight years but in 2013 decided to start her own design company. She resides in a small village called Hoby in Leicestershire, England. You can also find her on Instagram and Facebook to name a few. She is known for her beautiful fair isle work:

Ravelry: Houndstooth Tweed Loop Scarf

2DF97995-6021-4881-9809-B7A821DED20C-5913-000006919293129A_tmp_medium2

Ravelry: Georgia Fairisle Tam

Ravelry: Hartington

If you haven’t heard of Rosa Pomar or seen her beautiful designs and website, then you must be introduced to her! She is a Portugese designer living in Lisbon. I recently discovered her extensive offerings of fiber related products on her website. There is so much there, you will think you have died and gone to a knitter’s dream heaven. She owns a brick and mortar as well (see below). Here are a few examples of her work:

malhasport2

… And another Fair Isle knitter. I recently discovered this article and wonderful video on Bloomberg featuring Fair Isle designer, Mati Ventrillon, who actually lives on this island raising sheep, shearing them and having the wool processed into yarn she can use in her beautiful designs. Her process is fascinating as you will see played out in the video. She does a combination of machine and hand knitting to create her designs. Be sure to watch the video, you won’t be disappointed. You can also find Mati on Facebook and Instagram.

store_imgbespoke_imageI hope you all are having the best weekend, and I have given you some good inspiration! Happy knitting.

xoxo Shannon

 

 

