Knitting

One Stitch At a Time …..

You know, I think that those who don’t knit realize just how therapeutic knitting can really be. And it’s not just the process that soothes, but also the wearing of the finished project. It just keeps on giving and giving and giving. And so it is with me. When I’m having a hard day, just wearing something I’ve made lifts my spirits.

It doesn’t necessarily have to be knitting I suppose. In the past I’ve enjoyed sewing, cross stitch, rug hooking. But there’s just something about wearing a knitted garment that is so comforting. And then, if it’s made by someone else as a present? Well, that makes it even more special!

The specific FO I’m thinking of is the Campside Shawl by Alicia Plummer.

IMG_3430It’s humble beginnings . . .

cropped-cropped-img_3432.jpgProgress – this was my first shawl by the way. And I never used to like them! I think it was the really lacey ones that just didn’t appeal. Then I started seeing more and more interesting and beautiful patterns out in the knitting world and this particular one appealed to me. Oh, the comfort, warmth and sense of pride it has given me.

FullSizeRenderFullSizeRenderAnd tada! Finito!

IMG_0063IMG_0116Next on the needles: Shore Cardigan by Carrie Bostick Hoge. Really enjoying this knit using Lettlopi in Color #1403. Now talking of caressing the skin, this Icelandic yarn as you know is not the softest. I’ve heard through the grapevine though, it gets softer with wear and washing. The affordability, overall quality and color sold me. I will keep you posted.

As you also see, some new additions to my knitting library: “Knitting From the North” by Hilary Grant, “Knitted Cable Sourcebook” by Nora Gaughan, and “In the Footsteps of Sheep” by Debbie Zawinski. I would highly recommend all three. They are all quality books offering great patterns, photos and inspiration.

IMG_0133cropped-img_3393.jpgAnd… a little swatching with some lovely local alpaca died by moi using cochineal. The truer color is in bottom picture. I’ve always loved cables and Norah Gaughan’s new book provides the best inspiration!

Hope you all are enjoying Spring! I don’t know about you, but I for one am ready. Bring it on.

xoxo Shannon

 

