color · Crafts · knits · Knitting

Chullos Anyone?

Polar Chullo” by Mary Ann Stephens
Ribbels Shetland Chullo” an adaptation of the above pattern using the Puffin mittens color chart found here.

I’m sure you all have seen this style of hat that is most connected to what Andeans wear in Peru known as the “chullo” or hat of the Peruvian Andes. It is their answer to a stocking cap and was born out of necessity to protect themselves from the harsh winters in the mountains of Peru, Ecuador and Bolivia. “Chullo” coming from the Aymara and Quechua languages has several meanings but in terms of knitwear it stands for the symbol of the Andes, a woven wool hat with earflaps.

Believe it or not, this head-gear was once considered a crude piece of clothing only worn by Andean Indians, a lower class of Peruvian society. It did come to designate certain groups living in the high mountains. The colors, patterns and weaves would indicate where each wearer was from much like Gansey sweater designs did.

Chullo’s history: Read here for more on its origins and traditions.

I have long been an admirer of this style and have yet to make one. Nonetheless, I have been drawn to its folk inspired style, colorful design and the infamous earflaps. They usually always include ties, a long tassel or pom-pom and are sometimes lined. Mmm, that would make it nice and cozy. Here is Mags Kandis’ version:

Chullo Cap” by Mags Kandis
Squishy Chullo Hat” by Adriana Hernandez

Okay, well I could go on and on showing you one great design after another, and there are many to choose from as evidenced from this plethora of designs on Ravelry. I think you get the idea. If you have made one or decide to make one, I would love to see pictures! I could share them as a follow-up to this post. It might inspire me to get busy and make one as well!

I hope you all are having the best weekend, filled with pumpkin picking, apple cider drinking, leaf watching, etc.! I have partaken in the apple cider and leaf watching, but not the pumpkin picking yet. We are having the most gorgeous day here today too filled with lots of sunshine and fall colors. It just makes you glad to be alive, right? Happy knitting.

Now go knit and do good.

P.S. I just had to share this last one:

Andean Chullo Hat” by Kerin Dimeler-Laurence

Okay, I’m done.

xoxo Shannon

 

