design · improvisational techniques · Knitting · stitch patterns · sweaters · Travel

Designer of the Week – Wendy Bernard

Hello all, I have been on vacation, hence my absence last week! I thought I might be able to get a post in, but it was just too tempting to languish and do nothing but enjoy others’ company, the sunshine and my knitting. I’m sure you can relate.imageThis is where I spent my time. Now you understand, right?

Now, for the designer of the week. Wendy Bernard has been a favorite for some time as I own most of her books she has published. “Ingenue” from “Custom Knits” was my first top-down sweater project and was a wonderful initiation into this type of construction. The pattern was easy to follow and execute. I loved the process and the final outcome.

Ingenue“, Custom Knits.

cropped-cropped-cropped-img_1630111.jpg

DSCF7207collageHer designs are so well thought out, classic and feminine at the same time, while offering a chance to “make it your own”. For instance, with Ingenue she suggests you could make it an off-the-shoulder sweater and goes about telling just how to do that. If you are interested in “unleashing your inner designer” with improvisational techniques she instructs on that as well.    “Custom Knits 2” continues on in the same vein. “Up, Down, All-Around Stitch Dictionary“, one of her more recent publications, is a wonderful compilation of more than 150 stitch patterns to use knitting top down, bottom up, back and forth and in the round. A great book with concise instruction, good choice of patterns and a few designs thrown in as well.

Staghorn Vest“, Custom Knits 2.
Royal Cable Vest“, Up, Down, All-Around Stitch Dictionary.

Custom Knits Accessories“, a resource for customizing your accessories.

Skipper Poncho“, Custom Knits Accessories.

Other Wendy Bernard resources:

Any of you out there trying to improvise on a design? Desire to be a designer? Wendy’s books would be a great place to start for inspiration, help and just plain good instruction.

Now go knit and do good.

xoxo Shannon

