Knitting

It’s A Wrap

imageI don’t know what has come over me. Is it the new Madelintosh “Dandelion” (shown above) and “Pashmina” yarn I just acquired? Or is it all of the great wrap and shawl patterns out there these days? I have this desire to knit either one and that did not used to be the case with me. I know for a fact designers like Brooklyn Tweed, Martina Behm, Melanie Berg, and Stephen West just to name a few, have certainly influenced me. I was never too excited about this type of garment in the past to be honest. More and more, however, due to great yarns and innovative designs, they have caught my attention. I’m thinking they’re just a great thing to always have on hand in the car, on a plane, a bus, the subway. If you are anything like me, you get cold easily and a little extra coverage is always a good thing, even in summer!shawl collageUpper left: Exploration Station by Stephen West; Upper right: Drachenfels by Melanie Berg; Lower left: Tubularity by Martina Behm; Lower right: Guernsey Wrap by Jared Flood.

As I look at these, I ask myself are there any similarities in these designs that are drawing me to them? I think moreover, it is the use of color, design and texture. I know for a fact I am not drawn to the more lacy, airy patterns. It has to have some oomph for me, whether it be a lot of texture, color, combination of patterns or a mixture of all of these.

Offerings from the web:

Any shawl/wrap knitters out there? I would love to see what you are doing! Shoot me an email, send a picture. I am getting ready to cast on for my very first shawl with this:

imageIs this yummy or not? This is the Madelinetosh “Dandelion” in glazed pecan I mentioned earlier. It is a 325 yard fingering weight skein composed of 90% superwash merino wool and 10% linen. It has the most wonderful look and feel to it. You can see the little bits of linen coming through, lovely!

I’m thinking of the Travel Shawl by Veronica Avery from her Knitting 24/7 book.

Well, I hope I have inspired you to go out and knit a shawl or wrap!

***Update or correction I should say – the Travel Shawl as mentioned above calls for a DK weight not fingering!

Annie Cholewa recently cast on for Spighe di Grano. Hmmm, maybe!

xoxo Shannon

3 thoughts on “It’s A Wrap

  1. Like you I mostly favour graphic or textural impact (which doesn’t of course exclude lace) over the more frothy pattern offerings. I’ve just cast on a Spighe di Grano, largely because I think it will suit some yarn I already had, although as ever I’m making some modifications as I go.

    The Travel Shawl looks perfect for life on the move 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Annie, so good to hear from you. I love your blog by the way! I checked out Spighe di Grano, it’s a keeper. It is now in my Ravelry library. I realized after the fact though that the Madelintosh Dandelion I featured in my post is not the right weight for the Travel Shawl! Don’t know how I missed that, but I still really like the pattern. Maybe I will have to cast on with you.

      Have a good one!

      Like

Comments are closed.