color · Crafts · design · knits · Knitting · sweaters · texture · wool

Aaah, the magic of color!

You know it really is magical and to think I was once intimidated by it! I have always loved and been drawn to color and lots of it. That’s why knitting is so great. Not only do we get to play around with color and make beautiful patterns appear but there is texture involved which gives us such great visual and tactile qualities. And that makes everything even more interesting, right?

    
DSCF8474Here is the missing third color of the aforementioned Icelandic Sweater I told you about here as well as the pattern I am making. I chose the pullover on the left. What do you think? Bit off more than I can chew? Maybe, we’ll see!

       And sitting amongst the ajuga and lavender is my newest project on the needles: a scarf knit in Ito’s Sensai and Kinu, stranded together . The color way is Prune. Pattern consists of knitting five rows and purling five rows. Easy peasy. But since the yarn is so unique and beautiful it makes for an interesting combination. In case you aren’t familiar with these yarns, the Sensai consists of 60% mohair and 40% silk; Kinu is 100% silk. I for one, have never knit with mohair so this is a first for me. And I am glad to be doing it since this has been one of my goals: to try mohair and other different fibers. What are some unique yarns you all have worked with? I would love to hear about them.  

A few Fair Isle faves from Ravelry:

collageimage_medium2

This armwarmer pattern “Ratjetoe” (Dutch for hodgepodge) by Cello Knits would be a great first-time color project with a little ribbing thrown in on top and around the hand and thumb. Use up those color yarns in your stash as well. It is free until June 14th!

Fairisle-067_medium2

Love this three-quarter length sleeve Fair Isle Cardigan by Debbie Bliss. This would definitely be for the more advanced knitter. I am intimidated by this project but how satisfying it would be to finish, right?

FP_DOT_Fair_Isle_medium

And you can’t go wrong with a matching set such as this one! The Fair Isle Scarf, Hat & Mittens pattern by Rosemary Drysdale is also free here. The skill level is listed as “easy” and it only requires two colors. Not bad! I love it, it’s a classic.

Now go knit some color and do good.

