Crafts · Knitting · Photography

New Beginnings

Hello all! It’s been a loooong time, and I’ve decided to give this blogging thing another try. I’m still drawn to this venue, it still intrigues me. The thought of being able to put ideas, designs, thoughts, images out there for all of you to see. To share what inspires me, and maybe you can share what inspires you. We can all benefit. So let’s give it another go, what do you say?

I don’t know if any of you have seen this video Woolful put out the first of this year. It is beautifully done, and I just had to share it with you.

I could watch it over and over, how about you? Also, check out their latest podcast interview with Shannon Cook of Very Shannon. They are so proflific, putting out weekly episodes. So much good stuff online these days. Here are a few more sites/podcasts I really like:

Cast-On – If you haven’t already heard, Brenda Daynes is podcasting again. Yay! Love her.

Never Not Knitting – Really enjoy Alana Dakos’ quirky knitting stories, knitterly offerings and of course her beautiful knitwear designs.

New Hampshire Knits – This is a new one I recently learned about and am really enjoying her knit news and great sense of humor.

The Creative Yarn Entrepreneur Show – Love this new one as well, lots of great info. for all of you crafty entrepreneurs out there.

My latest FO off the needles:

DSCF8222Cream Scarf: bulky weight, knit up in an organic merino wool using a pattern called Pillar Stitch on each end of the scarf and Moss Stitch for the body. This yarn is dreamy to the touch.

Currently, I am working on an Icelandic Sweater (I know, pretty ambitious of me!) using the wonderful Alafosslopi yarn by Lopi in a bulky weight with these color ways (minus the lovely Wollemeise I recently acquired):

DSCF8216

DSCF8345 DSCF8347 DSCF8349 DSCF8387 DSCF8390 DSCF8407 DSCF8408 DSCF8410 DSCF8412

This has been interesting and fun to knit, really not too challenging as of yet. The pattern does promise however more extensive patterning on the yoke and just above the cuffs on sleeves. I was going to show you the pattern, but iPhoto is not cooperating today!

DSCF8350 DSCF8351 DSCF8353 DSCF8400 DSCF8402

I’ve got a little swatching going on here with some new Plucky Knitter yarn (Traveler DK in color ways Chamomile and Green Goddess) I picked up at Stitches South last month in Nashville. This yarn is soooo nice to work with. It has a great hand to it, nice sheen and really good stitch definition. Sorry for the seemingly noticeable color difference between the two groups of photos. The bottom group gives a truer representation.

DSCF8421 DSCF8424 DSCF8433 DSCF8434 DSCF8438 DSCF8439 DSCF8447 DSCF8448 DSCF8450

DSCF8451 DSCF8453

And of course I just had to share what is going on in my garden. It’s spring, right? From top to bottom, the lovely Rhododendron, (they are outstanding this year), luscious Hostas, Evening Primrose, Lavender and Ajuga, and the ever pretty Petunias. How is your garden growing?

In other knitting news, I am excited to be starting a new job at my LYS in Louisville, KY called A Yarn Crossing. If you are ever in the area, please stop by for a visit and a chat! We will soon be getting in a new shipment of Madenlintosh!!

Go knit. Do good.

