Garden · Knitting · Nature · Photography

IFO: Identified Finished Object – Ingenue

DSCF7948

Pattern: Ingenue from Custom Knits by Wendy Bernard

Yarn: Alpaca With A Twist, Hawthorne Pink

Needle Size:  US 8; 5.0 mm

Yay, Ingenue is done! Imagine me doing a little victory dance right now, round and round. Well, what do you think? Do you like it, do you, do you? Okay. I will calm down now. Such a feeling of accomplishment, right? I would have shown you the back but since no one was around to help me with pictures (hence, the selfie). It looks exactly like the front, so you get the idea. This top-down raglan sweater by Wendy Bernard was so easy! I would highly recommend this project for any wanna-be, first-time sweater knitters out there. There are things I would have done differently with this project, (isn’t that always the case after you have finished something?!) such as lengthen the sleeves a tad bit and definitely the body of the sweater by about 4-6 inches. As long as I don’t bend over too much and get a cool breeze blowing down my bottoms, it’s okay. It’s wearable, and I have had several compliments already! There’s nothing like compliments to make a knitter girl like me one happy camper.

collageThe yarn was a pretty good choice. Alpaca With a Twist was a dream to work with, although it is a tad bit itchy to wear. When it starts getting colder, I plan on wearing something under it. The pattern was very easy to follow with only one error in it which was changing one word! So a little tip if you don’t already know, always check the errata on a pattern before beginning.

DSCF7952

The stitch pattern you see is a Ridge Stitch and is not hard to produce. It just consisted of rounds of knitting, P2tog, K1-f/b, and knitting and that is it. As you can see it was repeated on the sleeve cuffs and neckline. And speaking of the neckline, which was a first for me, it is done in this pattern then folded over in half to the WS and sewn to the top of the Yoke. So simple but with such a stunning effect.

DSCF7954Have a happy weekend!

xoxo Shannon

