Crafts · Knitting · Travel

asheville

 

DSCF7661

DSCF7667 DSCF7668 DSCF7669 DSCF7670 DSCF7671Can you believe all of this came from one shop?! So much inspiration, so much color, almost too much to take in.

My husband and I recently went on a trip alone to Asheville, NC. I love. this. town. It’s beautiful for starters, nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains. In 2002 it was named the “Happiest City for Women” by Self magazine and in 2003 voted one of the “Best Places to Reinvent Your Life” by AARP. It is a hip, happening place with a vibrant downtown. Earth Guild is also based here, a great shop full of all kinds of craft supplies such as leather, roving, yarn, needles, yarn dye, etc. anything you could ever want to start making something! I also found the best little yarn shop called Purls Yarn Emporium. It might have been small but it was mighty with a great selection of yarn. I could have spent all day there and why I did not take any pictures to show you I don’t know! Of course I bought yarn at both places, see below:

Lanaloft was purchased at Earth Guild and is a worsted weight spun and dyed by Brown Sheep Company out of Mitchell, Nebraska. Colorway: Mulling Spice (a great color for fall, don’t you think?). Hand wash, lay flat to dry or dry clean. Net weight: 3.5 oz (100 grams), approx. 160 yards per skein; gauge: 4.5 stitches per inch; size 8 needle. I love any yarn made by Brown Sheep. Their yarn is always dependable with great colors and great quality.

DSCF7887 DSCF7895

This Malabrigo sock yarn came from Purls. Can you believe this is all I bought from here?! It was very hard to exert self-control, but do it I did. Now if hubby had not come along, more damage might have been done. This loveliness is a kettle dyed pure super wash merino wool that is machine washable in cold water, dry flat;  approx. 440 yards, 3.5 oz with 8 stitches per inch; needle size, US 1-3.  Can’t wait to see what lovely socks this will produce!

DSCF7753 DSCF7808

Evidence of the beauty.

I hope you have enjoyed my journey through a small part of North Carolina. If you want to see some beautiful fall color, now would be the time to do it. Take care, have a cup of tea for me and do a little knitting. You won’t be sorry.

xoxo Shannon

