“In The Pink”

DSCF6047

DSCF6043

DSCF6044//Here it is! iPhoto was kind to me today and let me retrieve the photos of my “In The Pink” scarf. I was inspired by Kaffe Fassett to just dive into my yarn “leftovers” and see what I could come up with. So this is a little bit of what I happened to have on hand: some Stitch Nation in “Passionfruit”, Briggs Little in “Carnation” and an un-named alpaca in a dark brown. It’s really pretty simple, you just start knitting in however many rows of each color you want and stand back to see the magic happen.

DSCF6038//If any of you are like me, color has always scared you, or using it in knitting is scary I should say. I have always loved colorful fabrics, paint, etc. and have not shied away from using them. But when it has come to knitting, I have held back for some crazy reason.  After all, what have we got to lose? So maybe together we can all try to be a little braver with our knitting ventures. One of the hardest things for me was to cut the yarn each time I needed to change colors. That’s crazy right? I guess it’s that Midwest sensibility in me that doesn’t want to be wasteful  or doesn’t want to do something that feels so final. It’s okay to make mistakes and to fail – being creative commands us to do that. So let’s break out of those ill conceived barriers and be brave! I’m right there with you.

Have a lovely weekend and happy knitting!

P.S. One of my color ventures has been to sign up for a Brandon Mably (comtemporary of Kaffe Fassett) course on Creative Bug called Magic Ball Colorplay. It looks to be a great class, one where creativity is highly encouraged! If you haven’t checked out Creative Bug, give them a look see. 

xoxo Shannon

