Sunflower and Wheat

//Sunflower Stole: This being my first design, I was pleasantly pleased with how it turned out. I used a handpainted 100% superwash merino, worsted 4-ply  from Yarn Daze, an independent yarn dyer from Indiana. I love some of the colorways she comes up with and this one was no exception. I thought the yarn showed the stitch definition really well in this Diagonal Weave pattern and it has an outstanding feel.

I will admit I did run out of yarn, which, I know, is a no-no. But I loved the yarn so much and wanted to start a design project, so I just went with it. So, yes, it wasn’t as long as I would have liked but it still works, and I just wear it as a scarf even though it was initially intended to be a stole.

DSCF6026I think this yarn looks like it has sunshine trapped in it, so beautiful!

◊◊◊◊

DSCF5906

DSCF5908 DSCF5909 DSCF5910 DSCF5911//Wheat: Another great project I wanted to share with all of you. This is not a design of mine but that of Tin Can Knit‘s; it’s part of a group of patterns called The Simple Collection (they are all free), and I want to make them all! This was such a pleasant pattern to make up and took no time at all really. The yarn is Highlander from Alpaca With a Twist which was a wonderful choice for this scarf as it is so soft and has great drapability, a joy to work with!

◊◊◊◊◊

I am currently working on two other scarves (I know, I am on a scarf kick right now), both new designs of mine. One, you have already seen (“Aya” ) and the other one, “In The Pink” is a striped number which I wanted to show you today, but iPhoto is not cooperating! So progress on this project will be coming soon, probably in my next post.

//On a personal note, I am so glad it’s Spring! How about you? Where I live, it is supposed to get up to 70 degrees today. All I can say is “bring it on”! Are any of you on spring break right now? Probably basking in the sun on some beach somewhere, right? Grrrrr. That’s okay, I can go there in my mind and have a little mental vacation. We start our break next week, and we’ll be having a staycation. Any ideas of what to do with teenage boys? Boys always like to eat, maybe I can find a new restaurant to take them to! 

Happy weekend everyone! 

xoxo Shannon

